Performative Computation Symposium

An interdisciplinary symposium and pop-up art exhibition.

The Performative Computation Symposium features the work of artists who engage in improvisation, as well as practitioners whose work probes artificial intelligence.

Presentations and facilitated conversations will explore: human improvisation, embodied computation, machine intelligence, data architectures, algorithmic debiasing and accessibility, choreographic scores and machine-assisted, musical improvisation. Following the symposium, a FREE pop-up art exhibition reception (including screenings) will be held.

Part I: Symposium (12:30-6:30PM)
Part II: FREE Pop-up Exhibition, Screenings & Reception (7-9PM)
Detailed Schedule TBD

Computation x Improvisation venn diagram (Computation X Improvisation venn diagram)

Founded and curated by Selwa Sweidan
Exhibition co-curated by Laura Darlington

No one will be turned away for lack of funds. Questions? Contact

For more information, please visit


Zena Bibler (PhD Candidate, Dept. of World Arts and Cultures, UCLA)
Alfred Darlington (aka Daedelus)
Alison D’Amato (Asst. Prof. Dance, USC)
Brian Getnick (Performance Artist + Founder, PAM Residencies)
Joshua Gomez (Head of Dept. of Information Studies, UCLA)
Shelleen Greene (Asst. Prof. Film Studies, UCLA)
Catherine Griffin ( + PhD Candidate, MA+P, USC)
Nicholas Meehan (Researcher, Xerox Parc)
Parag Mital (CEO, The Garden in the Machine + CTO, Mogees, HyperSurfaces)
Darrian O’Reilly (Dancer)
Surabhi Saraf (Artist, Founder Center for Emotional Materiality)
Sara Schnadt (Senior Lead User Experience Designer at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory)
Jessica Rajko (Asst. Prof. Dance, Arizona State University + co-Director of the Arizona State University Human Security Collaboratory)
Moderators: Dr. Roxane Fenton, Selwa Sweidan


Alisa Andrasek
Sarah Rosalena Brady
Rebecca Bruno
Symrin Chawla
Joana Chicau
Alice Chung
Linda Franke
Catherine Griffiths
Maya Gurantz
Ben Hooker and Jenny Rodenhouse with Tim Durfee
Laura Hyunjhee Kim
Lynn Hershman Leeson
Lucky Dragons
Kristin McWharter
Parag Mital
Ron Morrison
Silas Munro
Godiva Veliganilao Reisenbichler
Surabhi Saraf
Selwa Sweidan
Nicci Yin